O Sensei

This is a summary of the life of the founder of aikido, Morihei Ueshiba. Serious students of aikido should read “Abundant Peace” the biography of the Aikido founder by John Stevens.

Morihei Ueshiba was born in Tanabe, Wakayama Prefecture, Japan, on 14 December 1883. He was a fragile and sensitive child whose first year was overshadowed by illness. At the tender age of seven he began the study of Chinese classics and had an extraordinary interest in the rites of Shingon Buddhism for someone his age. To balance his mental interest with the physical, his father sent him to Sumo wrestling and swimming. In 1901, newly married, he moved to Tokyo and opened a stationery store. At this time he also began learning jujitsu, the classic Japanese art of self-defense and kenjitsu, the Japanese art of the sword. Illness soon forced his return to Tanabe.

Ueshiba entered the military when he was 20. He was the best bayonet fighter in his regiment and, in 1904-1905, took part in the Russian-Japanese War. He left the military after four years and studied the art of sword fighting at the Yagyu School. In 1912 he moved to the harsh, inhospitable island of Hokkaido in northern Japan where he met Sogaku Takeda, the master of the Daito Jujitsu School and became his student. He then left the island of Hokkaido when his father became seriously ill. On the way to Tanabe he met Onisaburo Deguchi, the co-founder of Omoto-kyo, a new religious movement in Japan. When he finally reached Tanaba, his father had already died. Despondent he began an intensive phase of prayer and meditation, after which he moved with his family to Ayabe and joined the Omoto-kyo. He opened the Ueshiba School for martial arts and worked as a farmer. In 1924 he accompanied Onisaburo Deguchi on a journey to Manchuria where they both almost perished.

In 1925 Ueshiba began to study the art of the spear, followed by intensive physical and spiritual training. In 1930 he opened the Kobukan Dojo in Tokyo. It required two written recommendations from two reliable mentors to join the dojo. The training at the Kobukan Dojo was hard and inflexible.

Deeply disappointed and disturbed by the Japanese military dictatorship during the Second World War, Ueshiba withdrew to Iwama in 1942. He recognized that the only duty of a true Samurai is to make the world ripe for peace and to protect all life. In 1948, aikido was the first martial art allowed by the occupying American forces and Hombu Dojo, the aikido world headquarters, was established in Tokyo. It was led by Kisshomaru Ueshiba, son of the founder of aikido. Morihei Ueshiba’s doctrine spread throughout Japan and in 1959 he sent his master students throughout the world. Morihei Ueshiba died on 26 April 1969.

„I didn’t create Aikido. Aiki is the Way of Kami. It is to be a part of the laws of the universe. It is the source of the principles of life. The history of Aikido begins with the origin of the universe. Do you think a human being could possibly have created these laws?”

O Sensei

Dies ist eine Zusammenfassung des Lebens des Aikido Begründers Morihei Ueshiba. Der ernsthafte Aikido Schüler wird nicht umhinkommen, die Biografie von John Stevens „Unendlicher Friede“ über den Aikido Gründer zu lesen.

Morihei Ueshiba wurde am 14. 12. 1883 in Tanabe, Wakayama Präfektur in Japan, geboren. Er ist ein zerbrechliches und sensibles Kind, dessen erste Lebensjahre von Krankheit überschattet sind. Im zarten Alter von sieben Jahren beginnt er mit dem Studium der chinesischen Klassiker und besitzt ein für sein Alter außergewöhnliches Interesse an den Riten des Shingon Buddhismus. Um dieses geistige Interesse körperlich auszugleichen, schickt ihn sein Vater zum Sumo Ringen und Schwimmen. 1901 zieht er, frisch verheiratet, nach Tokyo und eröffnet dort ein Schreibwarenfachgeschäft. Zu dieser Zeit beginnt er auch mit dem Studium des Jujitsu, einer klassischen japanischen Selbstverteidigungskunst und des Kenjitsu, der japanischen Schwertkunst. Eine Krankheit zwingt in bald darauf wieder nach Tanabe zurückzukehren.

Als 20jähriger tritt Ueshiba dem Militär bei. Dort gilt er als bester Bajonnet Kämper seines Regiments und nimmt am Russisch-Japanischen Krieg 1904/05 teil. Er verlässt das Militär nach vier Jahren und wird Schüler der Yagyu Schule der Schwertkampfkunst. 1912 lässt er sich auf der rauen, unwirtlichen Insel Hokkaido im Norden Japans nieder. Dort begegnet er Sogaku Takeda, dem Meister der Daito Jujitsu Schule und wird sein Schüler. Als sein Vater ernsthaft erkrankt, verlässt er Hokkaido wieder. Auf dem Weg nach Tanabe begegnet er Onisaburo Deguchi, dem Mitbegründer des Omoto-kyo, einer neuen religiösen Bewegung in Japan. Als Ueshiba schließlich Tanabe erreicht, ist sein Vater bereits verstorben. Tief bedrückt beginnt eine intensive Phase des Gebets und der Meditation. Kurz darauf begibt er sich mit seiner Familie nach Ayabe und tritt dem Omoto-kyo bei. Ueshiba eröffnet dort die Ueshiba Schule der Kampfkünste und arbeitet als Landwirt. 1924 begleitet er Onisaburo Deguchi auf einer Reise in die Mandschurei. Dabei kommen sie fast ums Leben.

1925 beginnt Ueshiba mit dem Studium der Speerkunst, gefolgt von einer intensiven Zeit physischen und spirituellen Trainings. 1930 eröffnet er das Kobukan Dojo in Tokyo. Um dem Dojo beitreten zu können, bedarf es der schriftlichen Empfehlung zwei verlässlicher Mentoren. Das Training im Kobukan Dojo ist hart und unnachgiebig.

Zutiefst enttäuscht und betroffen von der japanischen Militärdiktatur im 2. Weltkrieg, zieht sich Ueshiba 1942 nach Iwama zurück. Er erkennt, dass es die eigentliche Aufgabe eines wahren Samurai ist, die Welt für den Frieden fruchtbar zu machen und alles Leben zu beschützen. 1948 wird die Ausübung des Aikido als erste Kampfkunst von den amerikanischen Besatzern wieder erlaubt. Es folgt die Gründung des Hombu Dojo, des Aikido Welthauptquartiers in Tokyo unter der Leitung von Kisshomaru Ueshiba, dem Sohn des Aikido Begründers. Ab 1959 verbreitet sich die Lehre M. Ueshiba’s unaufhaltsam in Japan und mit der Entsendung seiner Meisterschüler auch weltweit. Morihei Ueshiba stirbt am 26. 4. 1969.

„I didn’t create Aikido. Aiki is the Way of Kami. It is to be a part of the laws of the universe. It is the source of the principles of life. The history of Aikido begins with the origin of the universe. Do you think a human being could possibly have created these laws?”